Skip to content

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip

February 7, 2012

See for yourself:

Looks amazing, huh?

 

On Sunday, I tried Chocolate-Covered Katie’s Cookie Dough Dip. I have been a long-time reader of her blog, so I’ve been eyeballing this recipe for a while, waiting for the right opportunity to try it out. I decided that the Super Bowl was that opportunity. The verdict? It is a promising recipe, but somewhere I went wrong.  The recipe is as follows:

Cookie Dough Dip

  • 1 1/2 cups chickpeas (1 can, drained) (250g)
  • 1/8 tsp plus 1/16 tsp salt
  • tiny bit over 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup nut butter (You can get away with using only 3 T. If you use peanut butter, it’ll have a very-slight “pb cookie dough” taste, so if you don’t want this, you can sub oil.)
  • up to 1/4 cup milk of choice (Start with 1 T, and add more as needed)
  • Sweetener (see note below, for amount)
  • 1/3 cup chocolate chips or Sugar-Free Chocolate Chips
  • 2 to 3 T oats (or flaxmeal) (You can omit, but also omit the milk if you do)

Add all ingredients (except for chocolate chips) to a good food processor (not blender), and blend until very smooth. Then mix in the chocolate chips.

Sweetener Notes: I used 2/3 cup brown sugar when I first made this for the party. Liquid sweeteners (agave, maple, etc.) are fine as well, as is evaporated cane juice. You can easily get away with less sugar– some people will be perfectly fine with just 3 T for the whole recipe! And if you don’t want any sugar, be sure to check out the “no-sugar” version linked above. (You can also use stevia, if you like the taste of stevia-sweetened desserts. Try 2-3 packets of NuNaturals stevia, and add more sweetener if needed. I wouldn’t recommend serving an all-stevia version to party guests, though.)

I made it as written, except that I omitted the oats, and thus the milk. Texture: My problem was that it came out very runny. Basically, it was like cookie soup. In a desperate attempt to save it, I added in tablespoons of flax and soy flour. Still a little runny. So, I stuck it in the freezer to harden it up before the party. After the addition of the flour and flax, the thickness was acceptable. Katie notes that she has never had problems with runniness, so I wonder if it was the almond butter that I used? If you are going to try this recipes, I recommend using a thick, no-stir nut butter.Taste: I could taste the chickpeas unless I add copious nut butter and sugar, therefore destroying the healthy aspect of it. I originally started with 1/4 cup brown sugar, and had to add more to taste. I ended up using a heaping 2/3 cup because it took that much sugar to cover up the chickpea taste. Also, I could taste the flax, and it added a slightly “fishy” taste. That would probably bother those that do not regularly eat it. Overall: If nut butter, sugar/sweetener, and chocolate chips are liberally added, this makes an acceptable gluten-free cookie dough dip. I would not call it extremely healthy, and the chickpea and/or flax taste may be noticeable to some. Experimentation to achieve the desired taste is needed.
I’ll try it again some day and see if I can get it right!

Today’s lunch was Cauliflower Mashed Potatoes, inspired by Happy Herbivore.

Cauliflower Mashed "Potatoes" with melty margarine

 

They did not quite satisfy my mashed potato craving, which was brought on by the gloom-and-doom drizzly weather that is unfortunately occuring today. It was runny (what is my problem?!) and a bit grainy; it definitely wasn’t thick or stiff enough to really resemble mashed potatoes the way I like them. I will be working to resolve that problem and can hopefully post my solution recipe soon! They were still delicious, though, especially with a large pat of Smart Balance margarine.

Fun fact: I never liked mashed potatoes growing up. As a child, I actually didn’t enjoy Thanksgiving that much because I didn’t like mashed potatoes, green beans, turkey, stuffing, or pumpkin pie. I was a weird one, I know. My desire to eat mashed potatoes has developed very recently. Thankfully, I also now love pumpkin pie, sans the crust (I have a gluten-free mommy). I still do not care for green beans, turkey, or stuffing.

 What are some of the foods that you hated as a child that you now like to eat?

What are some that you still dislike?

-Over and Out

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

