Skip to content

Calming Coconut Face Scrub

February 6, 2012

Last night, spur of the moment, I whipped up some amazing face scrub. I was making tea, actually, and noticed that I had several packets of chamomile tea, which I do not especially like. Nothing can match my love for peppermint tea, nothing! Chamomile has great soothing qualities, though, so I decided to put those tea bags to good use. I cut open three and emptied them into a little glass jar. Then I added a 1/2 T of baking soda, and about 3T coconut oil, melted, and stirred them all together. Voila! An adorable little jar of easy, affordable face scrub.

Coconut Chamomile Face Scrub

Why it works:

Baking soda is a mild abrasive that will gently exfoliate and remove the dead skin cells that can block pores and cause acne. The chamomile tea has soothing, calming effects and also works as an exfoliant. Coconut oil is miraculous for the skin. Although many people are afraid of applying oil to their skin, fearing that it will make them break-out, coconut oil actually has the opposite effect! Why? Because coconut oil contains a large amount of lauric acid. Lauric acid  is a saturated fatty acid that has been shown to be anti-microbial, especially against propionbavterum acnes, which is the acne-causing bacteria. Lauric acid inhibits the growth of this bacteria and is 15 times more effective at killing p. acnes than benzoyl peroxide. If you are at all familiar with acne-fighting creams, you will know that benzoyl peroxide is often touted as the best defense against a zitty face. Also, unlike benzoyl peroxide, coconut oil will not cause dryness and irritation, but rather, soothe inflammation and combat dryness. Coconut oil is 50% lauric acid, and thus has incredible implications for fighting acne, soothing irritation, and moisturizing. Source.

I hope that you try it out! I put coconut oil on my face every night and I love it! It has made my face softer, clearer, and more glowing :-)!

-Over and out

4 Comments leave one →
  1. sweetopiagirl permalink
    February 6, 2012 10:58 pm

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

  2. February 7, 2012 6:46 pm

    Reblogged this on TheForeverRemember.

  3. Hannah permalink
    February 8, 2012 11:03 pm

    Sis, do you wash it off? I’m assuming you do, right? Then, did you use more oil on your face after you washed off the scrub? I think I have some icky chamomile tea in the cabinet…

Leave a Reply

