Skip to content

The Naked Face Project

February 2, 2012
Image

Me, a year ago, in a (almost) makeup-free photo shoot

““Why do you wear makeup?” the eight year-old asked. “Because it’s fun!” we inevitably answer. But when we really get honest, that’s simply not the truth. We both work for organizations that promote a message of inner beauty, empowerment, and self-confidence, and we still engage in Beauty Habits – like makeup, shaving, and wearing uncomfortable feminine clothing . We’ve believed for years that these habits would enhance our appearance. After much discussion, we found the difference between what we preach and how we choose to act on a day-to-day basis troubling.”
The above is an excerpt from the Naked Face Project, a collaboration between Molly Barker, founder of Girls on the Run, and Caitlin Boyle, founder of OperationBeautiful.com, both bloggers. For the next 60 days, they will embark on a mission of discovery as they wear no make-up, do not shave/wax, cut/curl/dye their hair, wear jewelry (besides wedding rings), wear uncomfortable clothing (like high-heels), or use anti-perspirant, acne creams, or anti-wrinkle creams.
I have been following the amazing response on Caitlin’s blog, Healthy Tipping Point, that has occurred already. It has inspired a plethora of responses and discussion from girls who approve/disapprove, already consider themselves to be Naked Facers, and those that would never dream of doing it. I have decided that, as a pseudo Naked Facer, I am going to jump on board.
Current approach: I’ve had a pixie cut for the last 2.5 years, so for that time I never did my hair. Now I blow-dry it or put some aloe in it when I wear it curly, but I spend 5-7 min. on it max. If I’m going out I’ll flat iron the ends. I wear minimal make-up 75% of the time, cruelty-free mineral make-up only. I have blonde leg hair, so I rarely bother to shave. I put hardly anything on my face, partly because I believe in a natural/economic approach to skin care. I wash my face with Dr. Bronner’s castile soap, wear sunscreen during the day, and coconut oil at night. It’s easy and it works for me. I’ve been going through a brunette stage, so I dye my hair, but right now I’m letting my blondie roots show. I’ve never waxed anything. I do pluck my eyebrows. I must wear anti-perspirant because for some strange, gross reason, my family sweats a lot. I rarely wear any jewelry because I forget to, and I refuse to wear high-heels because they hurt my feet.
Project approach: For the month of February, I will not wear make-up, shave my legs (under arms are a must, sorry), heat style my hair, or dye it. I will continue to wear anti-perspirant, blow dry my hair  if it is cold outside, and wear jewelry if I feel like it.

I will be updating you with how I feel about it and any responses I may get.

What’s your current beauty routine?
What are your thoughts on “fixing” our faces?
Why do you do whatever you do… because it’s fun, or you feel like you must, or you do not feel pretty without make-up on? 

-Over and out

One Comment leave one →
  1. Big sis permalink
    February 2, 2012 2:00 pm

    I have started wearing only foundation. As my sister, you know this is a big step for me. Sometimes I put blush on my cheeks. I feel prettier when I do these things than when I’m completely without any makeup at all…I’m probably like this because I’m being influenced by American culture. I look the appearance of having smooth, even skin.

    However, I’m starting to feel more confident wearing less makeup than I used to. I think I look better now than when I wore mascara and eye shadow. 🙂

    You know how I feel about deodorant/antiperspirant.

    We have been eating a lot of tortillas. Baby girl calls them Tias. She also thought you were at the door this morning. 😦 We will see you soon

Leave a Reply

