Skip to content

I’d Rather Be Dancing

January 31, 2012

Recently, I’ve been suffering from guilt. Not getting up early and working out guilt. Not enough HIIT cardio guilt. Guilt about doing exercises that I don’t enjoy all that much…
It’s not that I’m lazy. I love being active. Ask me what I like to do, and I’ll tell you: I love to climb, Zumba, ride my bike, take walks in the sunshine, and lift weights! That is a fair amount of exercise, right? Then why do I not feel like it is good enough?

Zumba

Conventional wisdom. Popularity. Tradition. Societal norms. Things that just weigh me down, when I really want to be free to do what I like. I don’t especially like cardio machines. My mother will be shocked to read that, considering the amount of time that I have spent on them. I like to do real things! I like to play sports, I like to be competitive, I like to get somewhere! Ellipticals have been what I have always done, but it is time for a change. I am not a hamster in a hamster ball. I no longer feel motivated to perform exercises that do not get me excited and make me happy. I rebel against traditional gym-goer cardio fanatics, and all those magazine articles that give workouts for treadmills, ellipticals, and stationary bikes. I’ll be darned if I do, thanks, I’d rather be dancing.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

