Skip to content

Happy, healthy, and hopefully humble

January 22, 2012

Welcome, bonjour!
I am excited and apprehensive to join the blogging world. It’s a scary thing, putting all these thoughts out on the internet for anyone, or no one, to see. Really, it’s the no one part that scares me; I’d hate to write a blog and have no one read it!

However, my goal is to write this blog for me. I have never been a diary/journal writer, but I think it would benefit me to write my thoughts down. If those thoughts can inspire, encourage, or motivate another person, then I am all the more excited to write!

This blog will be about my adventures in living the most compassionate lifestyle that I reasonably can as a poor college student in Kansas City. For me, this means not only eating a healthy, vegan diet, but seeking to only use cruelty-free products of all kinds, from cosmetics to cleaners. However, I do not believe in shelling out exorbitant amounts of money to do this, so I am always on the hunt for deals, and I make many products myself (this is where Pinterest becomes invaluable!).

It will be about what I eat (veggies!), products I love, things that move/enrage/encourage/amuse me, my passion for fitness, and other tidbits that I find interesting. Hopefully, you will find them interesting, too. =)

I am a Criminal Justice/Pre-Med major at college (weird combo, I know), where I am also a proud member of Alpha Delta Pi. Please, before any one pegs me as a stereotypical sorority girl, know that I most certainly do not fit that stereotype! ADPi “is committed to sisterhood, values and ethics, high academic standards and social responsibility,” which are all standards to which I personally try to hold myself. I also am a member of the Luke18 Project. When I am not studying or working out, I nanny, because I love, LOVE children. My aspiration is to attend medical school and study Rural Medicine so that I can go abroad and work in third-world countries where the need for doctors and medicine is vast. I whole-heartedly believe in words from the Hippocratic Oath, “…do no harm,” and seek to help others as much as I can. Follow me as I try to live a happy, healthy, humble, compassionate life!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2012 10:52 am

    I have read this. I hope, therefore, that you feel loved. Keep up the good work!

  2. January 22, 2012 12:37 pm

    🙂 I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

